Recurring Nightmare

portland-psychotherapy-nightmares

I panicked and I ran

But had no place to go

You came out coldly creeping

Leaving footprints in the snow

 

I ducked behind the first tree I found

But saw you closing in

You were so damn relentless

I felt the frost upon my skin

 

With a hop I took off to my left

And tried not to turn around

I knew if you saw my face

You would forever hunt me down

 

I neared the end and felt a break

In the panic that you produced

But looked up to see you dead ahead

With fresh blood upon your shoes

 

I only made it a mile or so

When I finally figured it out

I couldn’t hear your crunching boots

Because you took a different route

 

I realized rather quickly

That what you had actually done

Was taken the right when I went left

And your walk turned to a run

 

If it hadn’t been for my reflexes

I would have ran into your range

You’d sink your teeth into my flesh

Feasting with your frothing fangs

 

I managed to make my escape

Away from your grotesque grasp

The ground was slick and I slipped

But I recovered rather fast

 

On my feet you’re an arm’s length from me now

And I am nearly to a door

I reach out for the latch as you leap

I gasp in fright only to hear a snore

Leave a Reply

