“But if thought corrupts language, language can also corrupt thought.”

a8f90ec5036e719238fea49b4ddd5239

The Title quote is from George Orwell’s 1984 and I find it fitting because it sums up my view of the importance that language and communication have on our world. I think it’s fitting for my first blog. I’m just getting my tips wets. My fingertips.

Language is one of the most important accomplishments humankind has ever mastered. Without communication a social animal cannot survive. When it is lacking, we suffer. When it is strong, we thrive. Better communication and a willingness to understand would bring the numerous societies and cultures of the world together. We will never achieve perfection in this but we can achieve harmony.

Written language is our extension of physical interaction and allows us to communicate across the planet and throughout history. Learning and growing does not end when formal education is finished. Reading can bring us closer to ourselves and to others no matter what type of writing it is.

I communicate best through writing and hope you enjoy what I have to say. You may not like everything I write and that’s okay; just stay open to different perspectives as I try to do. Stay hungry for knowledge. Stay humble to opinions. And read on.

Leave a Reply

